Saturday, September 15, 2012

Sigma Alpha Pi

With a week of culinary school under my belt, I write this with elation as opposed to trepidation (thems 25 cent words!) like the last time we met!  The only reasons I can actually believe it's all real are that my feet haven't stopped hurting since about 10 am Monday and I am absolutely exhausted.  OH, and let's not forget that I can successfully flip an egg from a pan without it hitting the floor and without breaking the yolk (please, be impressed...it makes me feel good about myself)!  Other things I've learned this week...I apparently have an issue with people younger than me telling me what to do.  Especially when said young'uns are in the position over me solely because their Mommy and Daddy own the business.  Micromanagers = Satan.  I found a new thing to make you go "hmmm??"...I make a quarter over minimum wage (6 dollar per hour pay cut from my previous job) and I saw a manager (also a son of the owners) leaving work in his BMW convertible.  My Lulla Belle hasn't had a functioning air conditioner in 4 years...granted, I don't know what dude man did before managing his parents' frozen yogurt shop, but that car looked shiny and new so I'm pretty sure it's safe to assume that he is still making payments...BMW convertible sized payments!  Needless to say, as I drove past him, my "what the fuck!?" moment was audible and since I have no AC in my car it's safe to say that I'm sure he heard me!  As you can tell, that job that I was SO excited about has been a complete let down!  I move into my apartment at the end of this month so the new job search will begin promptly after getting all my shit where it's supposed to be.

I've been living in a hotel on Sundays, Mondays and Wednesdays...the ONLY thing awesome about that (besides not having to drive an hour and a half to get to school every day) is I can jack the AC all the way down and I don't have to pay the electricity bill!  I will say, though, the looks on peoples' faces at the mention of hotel living is quite entertaining!  I miss my Gracie Bear terribly and I can't practice any of the stuff I'm learning in class...I only have 9 days of class then I take my final so that little tid bit isn't helping me at all!  Basically, the end of the month is going to be greatly anticipated and then epically celebrated!

I know I said that I was going to use this blog as an arts and craft outlet too...however, that may prove to be quite difficult!  I just joined Sigma Alpha Pi which is the National Society of Leadership and Success (not a sorority!) which requires going to meetings, watching broadcasts and community service.  As soon as I move and get a handle on a work schedule, I'll be signing up to do a bunch of Chef's Choice classes.  I'm also trying to find out if I can get onto some kind of honors track...I'd like to see how many ropes I can get around my neck at graduation!  So, as you can see, crafting will prove to be a bit difficult!  What I'll do, before I shut this down, is show you this phenomenal wreath I made!  When I have time, I'll post a tutorial of sorts. I have all the stuff to make a JWU inspired (don't hate on my school spirit) tutu wreath, I just need the time to sit and tie knots, cut letters out and hot glue shit together for 6-8 hours straight!

 


Thursday, August 30, 2012

Just the beginning!

I started the year off with a whole new attitude, 2012 is gonna be MY year!  This included quitting my job at the hospital I've been at for 8 years, moving out completely on my own, and paving a career path in the total opposite direction than the previous one!  Being that tonight is my last shift at said hospital, I'm feeling a lot of things all at once...hopeful, sad, excited, stressed...scared shitless mostly!  For whatever reason, blogging seemed like a fantastic idea to put my thoughts, feelings, crafts, recipes, and whatever other goings on the next 4 years, in particular, hold for me! 

Now, with all that said, I'll give you a bit of my background and my current state of affairs for those who either don't know me or have lost touch and don't know!  I'm a 27 year old nursing student turned future chef (told ya it was a path in the opposite direction!) and "mother" to one of the cutest, most rotten basset hounds you'll ever meet.  I'm moving from Columbia, SC to Charlotte, NC...while yes, this is only an hour and some change away, you need to realize that I have never lived more than 25 minutes away from my parents!  It's kind of a big deal! I'm moving to go to school at Johnson and Wales University (go wildcats) where I'll be in the culinary arts program so you can bank on there being loads of food posts with lots of pretty pictures.  I had a really hard time finding a job, but by the grace of God the sweet precious owner of CherryBerry thought it would be a fantastic idea to hire me and I honestly couldn't thank her enough!  It's a self serve frozen yogurt bar which, for whatever reason, sounds absolutely phenomenal to me!  Nobody can scream at me for taking too long or not doing whatever right cause they do it themselves, I just tell them how much it costs and ask if they want to buy a t-shirt too!  The only draw back is that it's about a 6 dollar an hour pay cut...this should make paying bills and eating super interesting! I have yet to set a move in date or even an actual place to move in for that matter...school starts in just over a week.  I put the pro in procrastination!

I'm sleepy so this will be it for now.  Expect an update within the next month...or this could totally end up like all the times I've tried to keep a journal...damn ADD...I have no idea where that thing went!